God Knows I’ve Tried


I was in a convenient store the other night

Wearing shorts and my favorite black shirt

I bought hotdog and sat quietly in a corner

Thought about my life, I mean, the important things like

If I still have a pair of socks for work tomorrow

Or when is the disconnection date of my electric bill

No time for Neruda’s or Coltrane’s of the world

Living is so hard I almost pay just to take a breath

Oh god knows I have tried

In this cold and lonely life

But tonight I had enough and so I whispered I quit

As I bite on my hotdog as it rained outside

 

I am locked in this lifeless life trap in a hell hole

Nobody can escape

I once said I’ll be a doctor but too afraid of blood

10 years later I decided to be a writer but nobody cares

Then I found a job I hate and you know you’re miserable

When your life becomes a song by The Smith’s

Oh god knows I have tried

But I am too tired—nobody can save me

In this cold and lonely life

 

Some are rich and some are poor,

Some are famous for being brave some for not making sense

Some are starving and some got money to waste

And there we are strangers with names

Thinking about our lives in convenience stores

No time for Neruda’s or Coltrane’s of the world

Our lives are songs of the Smith’s

And there are few words for what we feel

 

God knows I’ve tried

God knows so well I’ve tried

God knows I’ve tried but it wasn’t enough

 

What do you think?

